My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Ask Your Question

WebMD Answers

120 Characters remaining
120 Characters remaining
  • First, try and keep your question as short as possible.
  • Include specific words that will help us identify questions that may already have your answer.
  • If you don't find your answer, you can post your question to WebMD Experts and Contributors.

Close

Posted: | Report This Report Question |
Q.

I have celiac sprue, and my doctor prescribed Bystolic to treat it. Does this medication contain wheat?

Related Topics: Celiac Disease, Wheat, Drug
 

Answers From Experts & Organizations (1)

Pharmacology
American Pharmacists Association
239 Answers
4,324 Helpful Votes
20 Followers
A.

According to the manufacturer, Bystolic “may contain corn starch or wheat starch.” Therefore, Bystolic is not gluten-free. If you need to maintain a totally gluten-free diet, I would be cautious when taking this medication.

I recommend that you work with your health care provider to see what is best for you. If you need more questions answered about this medication, you can contact Forest Laboratories at 800-678-1605.

This answer should not be considered medical advice...down arrowThis answer should not be considered medical advice and should not take the place of a doctor’s visit. Please see the bottom of the page for more information or visit our Terms and Conditions.up arrow

Posted:
| Report This Report Answer

Was this helpful?

YesNo

Thanks for your feedback.

13 of 17 found this helpful
Read the Original Article: Digestive Problems: Ask the Pharmacist